The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts invite architects to participate in the 2022 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture competition.

Awarded every two years, the 12 medals recognize and celebrate exceptional design in projects recently built, large or small, by Canadian architects. The medals are among the most prestigious and coveted architectural awards in this country.

Recipients receive an exceptional opportunity to:

  • celebrate accomplishments with their team and clients.
  • reach new markets.
  • attract new businesses and new talent.
  • gain exposure across Canada and abroad.

The call for applications is open to all architects or teams of architects who were the main designer architects. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada and licensed or registered with a Canadian provincial or territorial jurisdiction.

The members of the 2022 jury are: Dr Izabel Fraga Do Amaral E Silva, Director-School of Architecture, University of Montreal; Anik Shooner, FIRAC, president and co-founder of Menkès Shooner Dagenais LeTourneux Architectes, Montreal; Dr Patrick Stewart, MRAIC, Director-Patrick Stewart Architecture, Chilliwack; Christian Benimana, RA, Senior Principal MASS Design Group & Director of the African Design Center, Kigali, Rwanda; and Dr Lígia Nunes, President, Architecture Without Borders International, Lisboa, Portugal.

Eligible projects are those that were built in Canada and abroad and completed between January 1, 2014 and September 1, 2021.

The submission deadline is December 10, 2021 at 11:59 p.m. ET. Applicants can use the new RAIC online submission platform.